Wildcats honored by preseason publications

Led by preseason All-American picks Arthur Brown and Tyler Lockett, Kansas State placed a total of 13 student-athletes on Phil Steele's 2012 preseason All-American and All-Big 12 football teams released Thursday by the publication.
Brown was named second team All-American at linebacker, while Lockett was the magazine's pick for its third team All-American at kick returner. Both were also listed as First Team All-Big 12 picks by the publication. The other preseason first team all-conference pick was Nigel Malone at defensive back, while tight end Travis Tannahill and defensive end Meshak Williams were second team picks.
K-State placed a total of seven players on the third team in quarterback Collin Klein, running back John Hubert, defensive tackle Vai Lutui, linebacker Tre Walker, safety Ty Zimmerman, place kicker Anthony Cantele and punter Ryan Doerr. Rounding out the selections was center B.J. Finney, who was named to the all-league fourth team.
In his first season in a Wildcat uniform, Brown was named the Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year after collecting a team-high 101 tackles, 9.5 for losses, 2.0 sacks and one interception. Brown was named First Team All-Big 12, a Bednarik Award Semifinalist and earned All-America honors from numerous outlets following his breakout season in 2011. He is also a 2012 candidate for the Lott Trophy.
Lockett, the lone freshman named to the 2011 Walter Camp All-America Team, was tops nationally during the regular season with a 35.2-yard kickoff return average, an amazing three yards per return better than the player in second. An All-Big 12 selection by the league's coaches and the Associated Press, Lockett ranks first in school history in average ahead of William Powell's 34.6-yard mark in 2010.
Klein tied the Big 12 overall record and NCAA mark for rushing touchdowns by a quarterback with 27 last year and also earned First Team All-Big 12 honors as an all-purpose player by numerous publications. Other 2011 All-Big 12 honorees to be recognized by Phil Steele include Malone, who was also a Walter Camp All-American in 2011, Cantele, Finney, Williams and Zimmerman.